Thoughts on New Media

As I enter my final year of college, it occurs to me how seemingly little I know. For years, I focused solely on my creative as well as technical writing skills. Spelling, punctuation and grammar were infused in my thinking at the apparent cost of “new” media training. Needless to say, I was thrown into a bit of a panic when I encountered the seemingly endless demands of today’s mass communications’ professional.
Aside from the social-networking aspects, which I have been aware of for some time, I was surprised to see coding and basic computer-programming skills included in these discussions. I was totally unaware that this was included in our recommended skill set. The same could be said for the entrepreneurial and business-savvy qualities mentioned as important for the professionals of today. I do have to say, however, that I was happy to see that strong, traditional writing skills are as important today as ever before. This fact serves to inspire the confidence that I have at least mastered one crucial skill set.
It is fair to say that all of the new and social media skills will be the most important for me to learn. I say “all” because I’m behind the eight-ball when compared to my peers in technological savvy. I just created Facebook and Twitter accounts within the last six months or so, and I’m just beginning to gain some comfort with these applications. It’s sad to say, but I hooked up to the Internet for the first time at home in April or May of this year. So suffice it to say that this year will involve exposing myself to as much of this new media as possible before graduation, so I have some semblance of expertise for the working world that awaits.

About Dan Boettcher

I am a journalism student at Minnesota State University, Mankato. I'm hoping to graduate in May of this year and hopefully find a job in the Twin Cities area. I'd appreciate any feedback from professionals who read my blog, especially those in the journalism or public relations' field.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts on New Media

  1. Cheryl says:

    No need to worry, Dan. You will be a fast learner in navigating the internet! If I can learn it, you certainly can. There are no dumb questions, and many people are on the same journey who are glad to help.

  2. You are not alone Dan! I feel the same way about not being tech savvy. I just opened a Twitter account for this class, and I am having a hard time going online to update it as often as I really should. You are probably like me in that I prefer hard copy assignments. BUT the world is a-changin, and we have to change with it.

    Margo

  3. dustyne k says:

    No worries you are not the only one who feels they’re behind in this new technology based world. I’m still trying to get a grasp on all the applications for Twitter and Blogs. One step at a time I suppose.

Leave a Reply

